Manmohan Singh Undergraduate Scholarships for 2010

The Cambridge Commonwealth Trust is delighted to be welcoming three Manmohan Singh Scholars who will be arriving this autumn to study for undergraduate degrees.

The scholarships are awarded to outstanding applicants from India, and the three recipients who will arrive in Cambridge this October are:

♦   Rudrajit Banerjee from The Cambridge School in Kolkata, who will read Natural Sciences at Christ's College

♦   Neal Duggal from Mallya Aditi International School in Bangalore, who will read Economics at St John's College

♦   Abhimanhu Singh from Delhi Public School International, New Delhi, who will read Engineering at Girton College

The Manmohan Singh scholarship scheme was established in 2009 in honour of India's Prime Minister, who graduated from the University of Cambridge with a First in Economics in the late 1950s, and who was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University in 2006.

The scholarships form part of the ever-strengthening relationship between the University and India, channelled through the Cambridge-India Partnership.

The scheme was first launched with financial gifts from Sir Evelyn and Lady Lynn Forester de Rothschild through the Eranda Foundation, and from the Mr Sunil Bharti Mittal-led company Bharti Airtel, through the Bharti Foundation.  The scholarship fund is underpinned by substantial funding from Cambridge Assessment.