HRH The Prince of Wales Scholarships for Small Island Developing States

The ‘HRH The Prince of Wales Scholarship for Small Island Developing States’ is part of a new programme of climate action scholarships for students from small island nations developed by Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, Professor Stephen Toope, working with His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales.  The initiative recognises the disproportionate effects of climate change on Small Island Developing States and supports students on courses that engage with sustainability, helping them develop their existing skills and knowledge to address the severe effects of climate change in the countries from which they come.  

Programmes will be offered at the Universities of Cambridge, Toronto, Melbourne, Montreal and McMaster University.  In Cambridge, the full-cost awards covering tuition fees and maintenance will support postgraduate applicants from small island nations to study at the University of Cambridge and will be awarded by the Cambridge Trust.

To be eligible, applicants need to:

hold a conditional offer of admission to the University of Cambridge;
be from one of the Small Island Developing States as defined by the United Nations;
wish to undertake a degree course with a focus on sustainability.

Postgraduate applicants should state that they meet these eligibility criteria on their Postgraduate Application Form.

A selection panel will assess applications taking regard of the above eligibility criteria.

The Trust will notify successful applicants by mid-May prior to commencement of their course.

Photographer: Hugo Burnand

Photographer: Hugo Burnand