Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC) is responsible for managing Britain’s contribution to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan.

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries. The Plan was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings – the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition.

The CSC supports around 750 awards annually. Awards are funded by the Department for International Development (for developing Commonwealth countries), and the Department for Education (for developed Commonwealth countries), in conjunction with UK universities. The CSC also nominates UK citizens for scholarships to study in other Commonwealth countries under the CSFP.

The CSC makes available several types of award, and the following are available in conjunction with the Cambridge Trust:

  • Commonwealth (Cambridge) PhD or Master's Scholarships (for applicants from developing countries of the Commonwealth)
  • Commonwealth Split-site PhD Scholarships (for applicants from developing countries of the Commonwealth)
  • Commonwealth Shared Cambridge Scholarship (Master's)

A separate external application is required for these scholarships

Commonwealth (Cambridge) PhD or Master's Scholarships

To ensure that they are considered for this scholarship, applicants must:

Commonwealth Shared Cambridge Scholarships

In addition to applying for admission to the University of Cambridge by the funding deadline specific to their course (and having a conditional offer of admission), candidates will be asked to apply using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Electronic Application System.

An applicant's proposed course of study must be relevant to the development of their home country.  Current eligible courses at the University of Cambridge are Advanced Computer Science, Conservation Leadership, Development Studies, Education Leadership and Improvement, Engineering for Sustainable Development, Law, Population Health Sciences and Public Policy (please note, this list may be subject to change).  For further information on these courses, please see the University's Postgraduate Prospectus.

Successful applicants are required to return to their home country within one month of the end of the scholarship.

Note for students

You are encouraged to use the Trust's scholarships search to find all the awards for which you may be eligible.