Royal Society Te Apārangi-Rutherford Foundation

The Royal Society Te Apārangi-Rutherford Foundation was established in 2008. It provides support for the education and development of promising excellent early career researchers, who demonstrate a passion for research, science and technology, and the potential to excel in a research environment. The funding opportunities are supported by the New Zealand Government.

The Rutherford Foundation works with the Cambridge Trust to offer the Cambridge-Rutherford Memorial Scholarship, available to PhD applicants from New Zealand in the fields of Science, Technology and the Humanities.

In 2011-12 the Foundation also collaborated with Antarctica NZ and CCT to offer the Scott Polar Centenary Scholarship, to commemorate the centenary of Scott's final expedition to the South Pole in 1911/12.

In 2017 the Foundation was invited to join the University of Cambridge's Vice-Chancellor's Circle, in recognition of its generous support of postgraduate students over many years.

Note for students

You are encouraged to use the Trust's scholarships search to find all the awards for which you may be eligible.